Testimonials

Below you can find a list of testimonials from our happy customers!

 

Dixons Contractors have been appointed by Sullivan Upper School on several contracts amounting to the value of approximately £900K. The main works have been extensions, ground works, toilet refurbishments and associated DDA works. The school remained fully functional during all these works and Dixons Contractors compiled with all Health and Safety requirements to ensure the safety of all concerned.

The contracts were all complete on time and within budget mainly due to the good working relationship between the contractor, design team and client. Sullivan Upper School are delighted with all works completed by Dixons Contractors and have no hesitation in recommending them as a main contractor.

S J Graham- Facilities manager, Sullivan Upper School

Ballysally Phase 2 for Choice Housing Ireland

Dixons performed to a very satisfactory level throughout the project, regenerating 15 houses which were in a derelict condition for a number of years. On site, they and their sub-contractors worked in a professional manner to deliver the project on time and on budget. They also liaised successfully with the surrounding community to ensure any issues with access etc with neighbours were resolved promptly. Overall, the Client was extremely pleased with the works completed and Dixons also collaborated very successfully with the Design Team throughout the NEC Short Form Contract. 

Jamie Millar, AECOM

I had the pleasure of working directly with Dixons in 2009 as the contractors selected to build our extension. Their pricing was competitive with those who tendered for the build. Although I commenced my position of Project Manager towards the end of the build, those previously involved spoke highly of the work undertaken and the professional manner in how things were handled.

Dixons attended regular meetings with the funder and the architect to ensure that the build was constructed to meet the needs of ourselves as clients. I found the team very easy to work alongside, very approachable and flexible as well as professional. The site team worked very well alongside the staff here at the Centre causing the least disruption to our services as possible.

The work itself was of a high standard and Dixons were always at the end of the phone to deal with all our questions. The professional, yet friendly nature of Dixons put us as ease and confirmed to us that the best contractor was selected to complete the job for us. We have had no significant problems since the completion of the build and our extension is well used by the children and families in the Coleraine area.

I would not hesitate in recommending Dixons to you as a competitively priced contractor, who is well able to meet the demands of their clients in a relaxed and friendly but professional manner.

Norah Robinson- Project Manager, Harpur's Hill Children & Family Centre Ltd
Altnagelvin Nurse’s Home Refurbishment for Western Health and Social Care Trust
“We had a very good working relationship with Dixons and would be happy to use them again.”
Alistair Keys- Architect, Keys and Monaghan Architects

I entered into a contract with Dixons Contractors Ltd to carry out Phase 1 of the renovations to La Mon Hotel and Country Club. This involved a new build extension to allow for conference facilities. I found Dixons Contractor Ltd to be very co-operative and professional in their attitude to the entire works.

It was imperative that the hotel continued business throughout the project and the main hotel could therefore not be disrupted. Dixons Contractor Ltd went to great lengths to ensure the their works did not impact on the hotel in any way. The site was separated from the main building with large hoarding boards which prevented the general public from accessing the site. This ensured that the high standards of Health and Safety of customers were kept intact at all times.

The project manager, site foreman and site workers maintained a tidy and safe site at all times. I was kept informed of the progress of the works at all stages of the project and I was very impressed by the level of engagement that I had with Dixons Contractors Ltd at all times. If I had any qualms or queries I had various methods of contacting any member of the team at any time.

I put increased pressure on Dixons Contractors Ltd that I had a party booked in the new conference room on a specified date and therefore there was no room for any delays in the project. Dixons Contractors Ltd coped with the pressure with immense ease and I was extremely happy with the overall result. Their commitment with the project went so far as working during the night to accommodate that fact that I may have had guests during the day. The works were completed to a very high standard and the finished result was everything I had envisaged. I was so impressed by Dixons Contractors Ltd and their ability to work to my high expectations that I have since contracted the firm to begin works on Phase2 of our renovations which are currently under way.

Charlie Beverland, La Mon Hotel

Down Royal Racecourse

I can confirm that Dixons Contractors Ltd were Principal Contractor for construction of the new Hospitality Pavilion and Turnstile Building for Down Royal Racecourse, Maze, Co. Antrim. The works had a contract value of £3,215,000 and took place between June 2008 and June 2009. 

The project consisted of the construction of a new steel framed corporate entertainment building; new turnstile building; new pump house; refurbishment of the existing spectator stand and associated site works including access roads, paths and parking areas. Before construction of the new corporate facilities could begin, the existing pumping station had to be relocated. The works had a 12-month phased programme which required the turnstile and existing stand refurbishment to be completed by November 2008 in time for our feature race meeting of the year, the N.I. Festival of Racing. The new corporate facilities building had to be completed prior to the two-day Summer Festival of Racing event in June 2009. 

I found both the Contracts Manager and the site team to be hard working, reliable and safety conscious. All phases of the project were finished on time, to our specification and on budget. Dixons responded quickly and effectively to any requests and design changes raised during the project and to issues raised during the defect period. 

Form our experience of working with Dixons on this project we would not hesitate in recommending them as a main contractor for similar works. 

Michael Todd - Manager, Down Royal Racecourse

McKinney House, Musgrave Park Hospital

I wish to let the management know that I am most impressed with the builders working here on site.

They are very considerate of the Admin staff and Seamus The Foreman works with me and keeps me

in the loop as to what’s happening. This is very helpful as I am the Receptionist here and it makes my job easier.

They are all a credit to Dixon’s Contractors.

Bernadette Mulholland, McKinney House, Musgrave Park Hospital

In January 2012 Dixons Contractors Ltd., completed, a social housing development of apartments, designed by this practise, and carries out under the auspices of a traditional JCT standard form of contact (JCT 2005:Rev 2 2009) with quantities.

The contract works involved, Site clearance, following demolitions of a vacant residence, construction of 15 apartments to accord with the Employers design guide, commissioning and handing over, the completed development, including mechanical and electrical systems.

The project was designed, and detailed for construction, to satisfy the requirements of 'Code for Sustainable Home', and was specifically designed to achieve compliance with the requirements of 'Code-3'. The requirement for code compliance led to the specification of a 'timber-frame' primary structure, with rendered masonry external skin. The timber frame structure, was specified in the form of 'Employer's Requirements', and formed as an element of the Contractor's Designed Portion of the contract.

At site level, the works were well managed in terms of construction quality, and trades integration, while support from senior managers within the contract's organisation was effective and efficient. The project was occupied immediately following Practical Completion, and has been fully occupied since January 2012.

Any construction issues, which have arisen since Practical Completion, have been of a minor nature, and have been attended to promptly, and efficiently, with limited disruption to tenants. Based on my experience from this project, I have no hesitation in recommending Dixons Construction Ltd. as competent contractors, with an able workforce, and an effective management team.

Patrick O'Hagan, Lyons Architects
Refurbishment of 10 void dwellings, Ballysally for Oaklee Homes Group/ Choice Housing Ireland Limited
“Although this project was relatively small, there were a number of complicated features, not least the management of the tenants and the phasing requirements. Dixons approached the project in a very professional manner and were well organised from the beginning. The Tenant Liaison Officers were obviously also very efficient, and tenant queries through the project were minimal. The final product was of a high quality, and we would have no hesitation recommending this contractor to clients based on this project.”
Sara Pearson, Architect, AECOM

During 2012/13 Dixon's Contractors carried out planned maintenance on behalf of the Association.

The value of the contract was approximatlely £190,000 and the duration of the contact was 6 months.

During the operation of the contract we found the contractor highly competent in their delivery of the works and they kept on programme. The quality of the work was very good, resulting so far in only a limited number of defects. The conduct of the operatives was also very good as no complaints on their attitude or cleaniliness of their work were reported.

I would have no hesitation in enaging this company for similar type of work in the future.

Jim Black- Chief Executive, St. Matthew's Housing Association

I confirm Dixons Contractors were employed by Clanmil Housing Association between August 2009 and October 2010 to carry out planned maintenance works at a category 2 housing scheme for the elderly.

The contact value was £1M or thereabouts and the works comprised upgrading external walls, re-roofing, replacement windows, replacement kitchens, new communal heating system, upgrade fire alarms and emergency lighting, refurbishing communal areas, DDA works including replacement for passenger lift.

The scheme remained occupied during the works but the tenants were decanted in phases to suit the phased programme of work. Dixons Contractors managed and carried out the works in a high degree of competence. Site operatives conducted themselves in a proper and courteous manner at all times. treating tenants with respect and dignity during a time of considerable upheaval. I have no hesitation in recommending Dixon Contractors for work of this complexity in the future.

Kevin McVitty- Property Services, Clanmil Housing

The whole design and construction team have delivered a fabulous facility for the College and our thanks to you all. 

Gilbert Valentine, Head of Estates, Perth College UHI
Window Replacement scheme for Perth & Kinross Council
“Dixons Contractors carried out a contract to install triple glazed windows and exterior doors to 240 houses for Perth & Kinross Council during 2014. The project was completed in July 2014 and included a variety of ancillary works, including the replacement of external fascias, soffits and rainwater goods etc. The contract was finished approximately 3 months ahead of programme and we received very good feedback from our tenants and the clerk of works.”
John Cruickshank- Project Manager, Perth & Kinross Council

 Refurbishment of Ballysally Phase 2 for Choice Housing Ireland

“We have worked with Dixons Contractors on a few refurbishment projects recently and they have maintained very high standards across the board.”

Matthew McLaughlin, Choice Housing Ireland

Dixons Contractors worked with McGirr Architects LTD as the main contractor on this project completed in March 2011. Through-out the duration of the contract period Dixon Contractors clearly demonstrated a determination and enthusiasm to ensure the works were complete on programme and within budget, which was refreshing and encouraging.

We believe Dixon Contractors to be a highly motivated company, who are always looking for the best opportunities to expand and progress their portfolio of schemes and we would have no hesitation in working with them again and any other scheme.

Cahal Donaghy, McGirr Architects LTD

Dixons Contractors Ltd recently carried out work for Dunloy Cuchullains GA & CC.

This contract involved demolition of existing changing rooms and the construction of a club house facility and associated external works. The ground floor works included four changing rooms, referee room, fitness room, first aid room and toilets. The first floor works included construction of new social club built to detailed specifications. Throughout the works we encountered no problems with any aspect of Dixons Contractors and works were completed on time and to budget. The club were extremely satisfied with the finished works. We would have no hesitation in using Dixons Contractors Ltd in the future and would highly recommend them.

Niall Camphill, Dunloy Cuchullains GA & CC

Dixons carried out a contract to refurbish 8 shop units and other associated works for Perth & Kinross Council during 2016. The businesses continued to trade during the refurbishment and this presented many challenges which were dealt with in a professional and competent manner. The contract was well resourced and well managed with effective and helpful staff. We received good feedback from neighbouring tenants and customer contact / liaison with the shopkeepers was handled well. There were no health & safety issues throughout the duration of the contract.

The project finished on programme and final costs were below budget.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Dixons to carry out further works of a similar nature.

Dixons are currently working on a programme to refurbish approximately 1,000 lock up garages for Perth & Kinross Council and we are very pleased with the performance on that project too.

John Cruickshank, Perth & Kinross Council

Major Improvement Scheme to Latharna House, Larne

We have recently worked with Dixons Contractors on a major improvement/health and safety scheme to Latharna House, a 16-storey block of N.I.H.E. flats in Larne, County Antrim.

Dixons Contractors completed these works to a high standard and within budget and we would have no hesitation in recommending them for similar works in the future.

Their site staff dealt with any problems which arose quickly and efficiently and complaints from the many tenants were kept to an absolute minimum. We hope to work with them again in the future.

Robert Herbison, McCutcheon & Wilkinson

Within the past 9 months Dixons Contractors has successfully completed a new 22 No. dwelling, social housing project at Eden Village, Carrickfergus, Co, Antrim.

The project consisted of a mixture of new 3 bedroom and 2 bedroom, general needs, 2 story dwellings, with extensive site works and landscaping works. Lifetime Homes, Code for Sustainable Homes Level 3 and Secured by Design standards were all delivered. The project was completed to a very good works quality standard in respect of all trades and sub-contractors.

The project was completed within the contact period and within the project budget. In administrating the contract as the employers delegate we worked well with Dixons Contractors head office staff, contract and site management team. All contract requirements were successfully delivered. All extensive handover requirements including all testing/commissioning certificates. H&S files, SAP as built assessments, waste management/sustainability data, code level 3 evidence, secured by design compliance, statutory services, utility provider approval were all supplied to delivery satisfaction completion. We along with the remainder of the Design Team and Employer personal enjoyed working with Dixons Contractors and would recommend working with them again on future projects.

Charles Lavery Practise Associate, JNP- Architects

Sports Complex, Rainey Endowed School

"We would just like to pass on our appreciation of Dixons' construction of the new sports complex it is a fantastic job."


Adam Thornton, Rainey Endowed Rugby

Sheltered Housing at Ellis Street, Carrickfergus.

We are pleased to confirm that Dixons Contractors were the main contractor for the above mentioned development of 11number houses and one communal unit for Oaklee Housing Association, and the project was completed within the contract period and budget.

Mark Foster- Construction, Engineering and Management, Alan Cook Architects Ltd

Construction works to the site were confined and in close proximity to residential homes, local school, children's playground and Local Council all weather amenity pitch The Contractor had registered the site under considerate Contractors and had fully engaged with the local community and school in relation to all construction activities and timing of deliveries to site. Based on the contractors performance on this scheme I would have no hesitation recommending Dixons Contractors on further projects for the Association

Scott Thompson- Senior Development Officer, Trinity Housing

On behalf of Monkstown Community Association we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all the work undertaken in Monkstown. We appreciate you working closely with your staff, NIHE and our MP/MLA Mr Sammy Wilson.

We are hoping along with Whiteabbey/Glenville, our cross community neighbours, to work closely with your firm on the EGAN Project and look forward to the same help and co-ordination that we have had with you over the last number of years.

Once again may I take this opportunity to thank you and your staff in particular site foreman Mr D Hunter.

D McCrea- Chairman, Monkstown Community Association

I confirm that Dixons Contractors Ltd were Principal Contractor for the project requiring the construction of a single storey steel frame extension to provide new school meals accommodation for the existing Newtownhamilton High School. The works took place between March and September 2013 and had a contract value of £526,500.

The works comprised:

  • Construction of steel frame building with provision of dining hall, kitchen, two store rooms, disabled toilets, changing rooms, dry goods store and an office.
  • Tie in with an existing structure
  • Commissioning and handover of the completed building including all mechanical and electrical installations.

Dixons team were very effective at employing measures to minimise the disruption to school activities. I found the site Foreman, site operatives and sub contractors to be conscientious and at all times behaved appropriately, respected the school environment and worked safely. There were no accidents or other issues on site during the works.

The site team remained very motivated and enthusiastic throughout the works. The works were completed ahead of the program, to specification and to a high level of quality which enabled early handover. Few issues have arisen in the defect period to date, and we have found Dixons to be quick to respond and very eager to resolve these issues.

I would welcome working with Dixons Contractors Ltd on another project in the future and I have no hesitation in recommending them for works of this nature and complexity.

Paul Mongan, Gregory Architects
Refurbishment of the 7th floor of McKinney House, Musgrave Park Hospital, Belfast

"As the end user representative for McKinney House in relation to the recent work carried out on the seventh floor by Dixons I would like to congratulate your Team of workers not only for their professionalism in carrying out the work, but also for being so courteous and polite to the staff of McKinney House and for causing so little disruption as possible.

I would also like to convey a very special thank you to Seamus Kelly not only for his professionalism but for the excellent and pleasant way he communicated with McKinney House staff.  Seamus was an absolute pleasure and delight to work with.

May I also congratulate Ciaran Richmond for his professionalism and pleasant manner at the fortnightly update meetings and for always providing the necessary update reports etc. as required by the Chair of the meetings.

I do hope that I will have the pleasure to work with the above mentioned in the future."

Joan Lowry, McKinney House, Musgrave Park Hospital

Design and Build Academy of Sports and Wellbeing, Perth College UHI

Dixons demonstrated a real commitment to working in partnership with the college, listened to us and were proactive in offering suggestions and professional advice while reacting quickly and positively to any queries raised by us. From the initial tender submission to project completion, Dixons delivered everything they promised and more. We now have a fantastic new facility with a real ‘wow’ factor which was delivered on time and within budget.

Jackie Mackenzie- Vice Principal of Finance and Estates, Perth College University of Highlands and Islands

Our club were extremely pleased with the complete new-build package we received from Dixons Contractors. From the inital awarding of the contract (after tender) right through to the excellent follow up service provided we never once came up against any major difficulites which was not easily resolved by their team and contract manager.

Indeed within the apst few months Dixons workers were back in our club checking if there were any small problems which we many have had (and there wasn't many) To receive this level of service alomost 24 months after the completeion nof our new club is nothing short of execeptional.

Of course the key factor for the vast majority of prospective new clients is that our new (and sunsequently RSUA award winning) club-house came in both within the original contract period and on budget. Any extra costing only came from additional works which we requested as the client.

We have no hesitation in recommending Dixons to be your main or preferred contractor based on the excellent client focused experience which we have had enjoyed with them. Furthermore we extend an invite to any prospective clients to come and view our club-house at any time, perhaps it may even be beneficial to listen and learn from our previous experience.

Sean McVeigh- Club Secretary, Cardinak O'Donnell's GAC

Dixon's Contractors are a competant and attentive builder with the ability to deliver a quality job in time and within budget.

As such I have no hesitation in recommending them to you.

Peter McGuckin, Robinson McIlwaine Architects

Monkstown Gardens Newtownabbey

Dixons Contractors have been engaged by the Association to provide new build social housing at the above location. I can confirm that the Association has been pleased with the service received and the professionalism shown by Dixons Contractors in their approach to our new build project. The Association would satisfied to recommend this firm for further construction projects.

John Brooks- Director of Property Services , Connswater Homes

Private Housing development, Red Bridge, Co. Down

"Top quality contractors"

R.E. Graham, 23 Design Ltd

High Street, Donaghadee - refurbishment and fit-out of retail units and apartment

The place looks great.

Your team has done a fantastic job.

The attention to detail has been spot on.

Excellent management and site supervision, contract completed ahead of program and within budget

Lee Doherty- Architect, Doherty Architects

Relocation of existing private access lane and provision of Park and Ride facility at Carrickfergus Railway Station.

"The above works was carried out by Dixons Contractors Ltd on programme and within budget. The works were carried out professionally and with all the due care and attention required when working within a railway environment. The contractor had to manage passengers and staff through the railway site and also parents and children for who the access lane was the only means of access to a day care nursery. Health and Safety was paramount and this was managed diligently by Contracts Manager Ryan McErlean who successfully dealt with all relevant parties. The standard of workmanship was very good and the general attitude of all site staff was excellent. We would have no issues with recommencing this contractor for any other works where they be considered qualified and look forward to working with them again in future projects should these arise."

Gary Hunt DAAS RIBA, Translink

We have recently completed a £600,000 partial refurb/new build offices and conference facility for Business in the Community at Maytown Industrial estate L'Derry. The main Contractors were Dixons Contractors and the job was completed on time and on budget. The quality of the work was good and we would have no hesitation in recommending them for work of a similar nature.

Jeremy Jackson- Partner, Jackson Graham Associates LLP

Dixons Contractors Ltd have been retained by the Northern Ireland Housing Executives' North East Area as its partner contractor for its revenue programme of works for a number of years.

The revenue programme includes External Cyclic Maintenance (ECM) schemes, Kitchen Replacement schemes, Fire Door installation/ Replacement schemes, Double glazing Installation/Window Replacement schemes and Capital Kitchen (requiring the construction of a kitchen extension) schemes. The brief for these schemes generally requires Messrs Dixons to survey the dwellings, put the survey results into a condition report (including recommendations and costs), to present the survey results and condition report at a client 'clearance' meeting, prepare a Project Price List (Bill of Quantities/Schedule of rates) for submission to and agreement with the client and once he approval mechanism have been completed carry out the works on site.

The NIHEs' North East Area have found Dixons to be competent across various parts of its revenue programme and also in delivery of the brief. The quality of the work finished product has generally been of a high quality as measured by each schemes KPIs'.

Relationship between client staff and contractor staff have also been good during the course of these contacts. With regards to timeliness of delivery this too has generally been good. The NIHE, North East Area would have no hesitation in again employing Dixon Contractors Ltd nor in recommending them for employment by others.

L.R. Cunningham, Northern Ireland Housing Executive
Extension works to Belfast Window on Wildlife in RSPB NI
“Excellent Foreman, Contracts Manager and QS. Pleasure to work with.”
Peter Harper- Project Manager, RSPB NI
I can confirm that Dixons Contractors LTD successfully carried out a major refurbishment contract including re-cladding, re-roofing, replacement, M&E installation, structural alteration and re-decoration of Ballyduff Community Centre. Dixons performed well throughout the £250,000 contract and Newtownabbey Borough Council would fully consider working with this Contractor again.
Denis O' Donnell- Project Development Officer, Newtownabbey Borough Council
Extension works to Belfast Window on Wildlife for RSPB NI
“It was a pleasure working with Dixon Contracts on Belfast WOW for the RSPB. We would have no hesitation in recommending them for jobs of a similar nature. Their administrative support in the office was strong. There was no debate or dispute about costs for changes or variations. They pushed the project on, to finish on time and on budget despite many delays and changes outside their control. Their workmanship was to a very high standard and the work on site was superbly managed by “big Chris” their foreman! Thank you.” Eamonn Monaghan MRIAI ARB
Eamonn Mohaghan- Architect, Keys Monaghan Architects
Refurbishment of 10 void dwellings, Ballysally for Oaklee Homes Group/ Choice Housing Ireland Limited
“The whole project was carried out in the spirit of mutual trust and partnership between the Project team and Dixons Contractors. Manager Chris was excellent and communicated well throughout the project. This project was delivered to budget and on time. We were delighted with Dixons delivery of this project and they have now been awarded the 2nd phase of works.”
Matthew McLaughlin- Project Manger, Choice Housing Ireland Limited

 Moyglass Place for Oaklee Trinity Housing Association

“We found Dixon Contractors to be highly efficient in their site management and programme organisation. Their quality of works met the very high standards required by the client.

The works were competed in advance of the agreed contract date and within the contract figure.”

Stephen Whitley, Michael Whitley Architects

We have worked in conjunction with Dixons Contractors for more than 10 years & as a building company they have successfully carried out a number of construction projects ranging from New Build commercial/community facilities to refurbishment of educational premises.

Dixons Contractors were the main contractor of the award winning O'Donnell's GAC Clubrooms, which was completed on time & within budget in 2007.

Their workmanship has always been of a high quality.

Our Architectural Practise was always keen to include Dixons Contractors on any of our tender lists.

It is with pleasure that I would recommend them without hesitation.

You can contact me on the following email address: lee.doherty@doharch.com

Lee Doherty, Doherty Architects
 Wards 1 and 2 Waterside Hospital, Gransha for Western Health and Social Care Trust
“We had a very good working relationship with Dixons at all levels on this project and would be happy to work with them again.”
Alistair Keys- Architect, Keys and Monaghan Architects